Psalm 119 On My Birthday

5 Jun

birthday cake

Rather than the birthday song, I think these words are pertinent in the coming year:

“Teach me, O Lord, the way of your statutes,
     and I will keep it to the end.
Give me understanding, that I may keep your law
    and observe it with my whole heart.
Lead me in the path of your commandments,
    for I delight in it.
Incline my heart to your testimonies,
     and not to selfish gain!
Turn my eyes from looking at worthless things;
     and give me life in your ways.
Confirm to your servant your promises,
     that you may be feared.
Turn away the reproach that I dread,
     for your rules are good.
Behold, I long for your precepts;
     in your righteousness give me life!”
-Psalm 119:33-40 

 I am so thankful for the work of Christ on my behalf, and the tremendous blessings I have as a child of God–both now and yet to come when I die (or Christ returns).  Yet, for each year that God grants me on earth, I pray that these words from the psalmist will become increasingly true: that as God works in me, I would–more and more–reflect God and walk in the works He’s prepared for me.  I pray that He will teach, give, lead, incline, turn, and confirm, and that I would keep, observe, delight, have life, fear, and long.  

In a sense, you could say this is my birthday wish, and I hope that it may your own with each year God grants you…

Have Thoughts?

ISU Kingdom Vision Cooperative

A Kingdom-minded association of campus ministries

Areopagus Campus Ministry

For Christ And His Kingdom In University Life

Blog - Redeemer City to City

To Glorify God In All Facets Of Life

HeadHeartHand Blog

To Glorify God In All Facets Of Life

Housewife Theologian

The Gospel Interrupting the Ordinary

To Glorify God In All Facets Of Life

Common Ground

of Central Illinois

Reformedish

incompletely reformed thoughts on God, ministry, and life

Reforming Pastor

To Glorify God In All Facets Of Life

Everyday Races

There is beauty in the mundane.

