Morning & Evening

16 Sep

Over the past few weeks, I have found myself falling into a pattern when reading the Bible.  In the morning, I tend to read from 1 Samuel and Luke’s Gospel account (previously it was Judges and Mark’s Gospel account), and in the evening, I read a Psalm or two before bed.

This hasn’t been something I intended, but as I reflect upon it, I see a couple of important themes that bring out the beauty of God and His Word:

1. The Whole of Scripture

As I read, I find myself engaging with both the Old and New Testament.  I find myself seeing similar attributes of God being expressed across the testamental divide: steadfast love, grief, anger, joy, wrath, mercy, faithfulness.  I am confronted by repeating themes: covenant, sacrifice, trust, love, justice.  And I am faced with the sins of the Israelites, the apostles, and the early church (not to mention my own): idolatry, greed, pride, immorality, unfaithfulness to God, hate.  God’s Word proves itself united and whole, lacking in nothing, and revealing much about who God is, what He has done, who I am, and the salvation that comes through Christ Jesus.

2. Remembering and Rejoicing

The other thing that I’ve recognized is the way in which my reading has brought out these two things: Remembering and Rejoicing.  In the morning, I am reminded of God’s word to His people, and His mighty works.  Whether it be the parting of the Red Sea, the deliverance of the Israelites out of the hands of the Philistines at Mizpah, or Jesus’ miracles, I am called to remember the power, love, justice, and involvement of the Lord God.  Not only this, but I carry the word of these deeds in my head as I go about my day.  Thus, as I encounter trials and temptations, I can remember my God, what He has done, and what He has promised to do.

Then, when I prepare to go to bed, I read a Psalm.  In light of the day God has graciously given to me, as well as His mighty works throughout time (from the creation of the world to the outworking of my day at work), I read and rejoice with the Psalmist.  I glorify His name with these words of dependence, love, adoration, need, and amazement.

So, morning by morning, I find God filling me with His life-giving Word to prepare me for a day of service to Him, for His glory and my joy, and evening by evening, I find Him drawing me to Himself in words of praise and glory.

Take time to reflect on how you read the Bible. What does it tell you of God?  How does it prepare and, in the power of the Spirit, empower you to glorify God in all facets of life?

Have Thoughts?

ISU Kingdom Vision Cooperative

A Kingdom-minded association of campus ministries

Areopagus Campus Ministry

For Christ And His Kingdom In University Life

Blog - Redeemer City to City

To Glorify God In All Facets Of Life

HeadHeartHand Blog

To Glorify God In All Facets Of Life

Housewife Theologian

The Gospel Interrupting the Ordinary

To Glorify God In All Facets Of Life

Common Ground

of Central Illinois

Reformedish

incompletely reformed thoughts on God, ministry, and life

Reforming Pastor

To Glorify God In All Facets Of Life

Everyday Races

There is beauty in the mundane.

