A Question Regarding Communion

21 Mar

I’ve been reading through Tim Chester’s, A Meal With Jesus, and this morning, a particular question posed by the author struck me as vastly important for us, and has its own unique connection to discipleship.

In chapter 5, Chester writes:

 “If your church stopped celebrating communion, what difference would it make to your life?” 

It made me think.  What do I believe regarding communion, and what would its absence mean for me?  I think that in America we have, in many ways, ignored communion and refused to think through its significance (or insignificance) in our local church gatherings.

The Heidelberg Catechism shines some light on communion, presenting it as a beautiful reminder of what Christ has done for us and a means of grace for those who have been put to death and made alive in Christ:

Q: How does the Lord’s Supper remind you and assure you that you share in Christ’s one sacrifice on the cross and in all his gifts?
A: First, as surely as I see with my eyes the bread of the Lord broken for me and the cup given to me, so surely his body was offered and broken for me and his blood poured out for me on the cross.  Second, as surely as I receive from the hand of the one who serves, and taste with my mouth the bread and cup of the Lord, given me as sure signs of Christ’s body and blood, so surely he nourishes and refreshes my soul for eternal life with his crucified body and poured-out blood. 

Q: Who are to come to the Lord’s table?
A: Those who are displeased with themselves because of their sins, but who nevertheless trust that their sins are pardoned and that their continuing weakness is covered by the suffering and death of Christ, and who also desire more and more to strengthen their faith and to lead a better life.

For me, communion is a means by which I receive a visible reminder of what Christ has accomplished for me on the cross, and it also is a means by which I receive sanctifying grace from the Lord for the strengthening of my faith and refreshment of my soul as I seek to fight the good fight and glorify God with my life.  In this way, our public, congregational celebration of communion serves as a means of discipleship, calling us to remember the Gospel, live in dependence upon the grace of God, and upon receiving grace from God, enter back into the mission field to proclaim that grace to others.  I need communion because I am a sinner, and I am in constant need of God’s grace to continue on; to be used in ministry, to love my neighbor, and to be conformed to the image of Christ.

So after spending time reflecting on communion, my question to you is: If your church stopped celebrating communion, what difference would it make in your life?

One Response to “A Question Regarding Communion”

  1. savedbygrace March 22, 2012 at 1:27 am #

    “This cup is the
    NEW COVENANT in my blood;
    do this, whenever you drink it, in remembrance of me.”
    – 1 Corinthians 11:25

    most of the churches today are under the old covenant. that is the very reason why they don’t put emphasis on the communion.

    they neither preach the gospel.

    another litmus test, is this verse

    “I tell you the truth, wherever this gospel is preached throughout the world, what she has done will also be told, in memory of her.”
    – Matthew 26:12

    it was the story of the woman who anointed Jesus with expensive perfume. see if the church even mention this woman.

    my cry, is that the true gospel is preached.

    good post.

    – grace and peace

Have Thoughts?

ISU Kingdom Vision Cooperative

A Kingdom-minded association of campus ministries

Areopagus Campus Ministry

For Christ And His Kingdom In University Life

Blog - Redeemer City to City

To Glorify God In All Facets Of Life

HeadHeartHand Blog

To Glorify God In All Facets Of Life

Housewife Theologian

The Gospel Interrupting the Ordinary

To Glorify God In All Facets Of Life

Common Ground

of Central Illinois

Reformedish

incompletely reformed thoughts on God, ministry, and life

Reforming Pastor

To Glorify God In All Facets Of Life

Everyday Races

There is beauty in the mundane.

