2012: Rediscover Our Treasure

6 Jan

“For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”
-Matthew 6:21

When I was seven years old, my family got our first home computer.  In fact, it was a Christmas gift from “Santa.”  I remember going downstairs and walking into our catch-all room that served as an office, playroom and storage space, and there on the desk was a brand new computer like the one above.  I was fascinated and excited about the computer.  In fact, I spent most of the day trying to get it turned on and loading programs onto it.

And one day turned into two, and two into four, and before long, the computer became my treasure.  More so than the SEGA Genesis we had, or the army men I still frequently played with.  When I got home from school, I rushed into the office to play on the computer.  Then the internet came and before long, I longed even more to spend my days enjoying my treasure.

That has changed now.  Not only do I have a newer computer, but it is no longer my treasure.  By God’s grace, my eyes have been opened to the treasure that His Son, Jesus Christ is.  He came to earth, in the form of a baby, lived a perfectly righteous life, never once succumbed to temptation, died unjustly on a cross on our behalf so that our sins might now be forgiven, and rose again from the dead to pronounce victory over sin, death and the devil.  Not only this, but He calls us to receive Him and His rule by faith, and in doing so, we become the beneficiaries of all that Christ accomplished.

In receiving Him, and in continually seeking to make Him my treasure each day, my life has taken on a new shape.  Rather than rushing to spend hours on the antiquated PC, I desire to spend time in God’s Word, reading of what He has done, reminding myself of my identity in Christ, and being called to live in obedience to my King.  I share the good news with others, and discuss what God has done with those around me.  I pray to my Father, knowing that He hears every word and that I have an intercessor in Christ.  And in all that I do in work, I seek to glorify God.

This leads us to the mission of this blog, which, as stated in the “About” section is as follows:

“This blog exists to help stir people up to become Christ-centered disciples who find their greatest joy in Christ and glorifying God in all facets of their lives.”

I want to state that this is still the mission.  Yet, as we enter the new year, I have realized that it is all too easy for us (myself included) to lose sight of our Savior and the treasure that He is.  And this directly impacts the mission of this blog.  It is as we find Christ as our treasure that we find our joy in Him and what He has accomplished for us and will accomplish at His return.  And this is the fuel for living our whole lives to the glory of God.

It is my hope that in this coming year, all my posts would seek to point us to Christ, His work, and the promises we, as Christians, have in Him, and the ways in which our lives are impacted by these truths as we seek to love God and love others.  For where the heart is, there also is our treasure, and it is my genuine desire to see our treasure be Jesus Christ, and to see our lives reflect that treasure to the glory of God and our immeasurable joy!

One Response to “2012: Rediscover Our Treasure”

  1. LovingMinistry January 7, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    our treasure is Christ, our focus is Christ, our life is for Christ! a great 2012! Blessings

Have Thoughts?

ISU Kingdom Vision Cooperative

A Kingdom-minded association of campus ministries

Areopagus Campus Ministry

For Christ And His Kingdom In University Life

Blog - Redeemer City to City

To Glorify God In All Facets Of Life

HeadHeartHand Blog

To Glorify God In All Facets Of Life

Housewife Theologian

The Gospel Interrupting the Ordinary

To Glorify God In All Facets Of Life

Common Ground

of Central Illinois

Reformedish

incompletely reformed thoughts on God, ministry, and life

Reforming Pastor

To Glorify God In All Facets Of Life

Everyday Races

There is beauty in the mundane.

